Upcoming Movie News and Inspiration

Master Caster Interview: Misha

Dianna Agron proposed to play Betty Cooper

INTRODUCTION

Hi Misha, Tell us a little about yourself!

I’m 32. I’m Australian, but live in England.

How did you find out about the IF List?  

I can’t remember exactly, I think I googled a fantasy cast and it was a link.

FILM ADAPTATIONS

What is the first story you ever wished to be made into a movie?

Oh gosh. I’ve been casting in my mind forever…I think I really got into it around 6 years ago and from memory it was The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan or Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway! (Both still aren’t films yet!)

What is the last film adapted from a book/comic/real life story you saw?

Mockingjay Part 1

Were you happy with the cast?

Nope. Back in the day before the first one came out I was a big ‘Troian Bellisario for Katniss’ advocate.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.49.48 AM

What could have been: Troian proposed for Katniss Everdeen

If you could pick one book right now to become a movie or TV series, what would it be and why?

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I just finished it and it’s amazing, would be an awesome film.

FAVORITE PROPOSALS

Is there a certain actor/actress you like to use for several dream casts? Why do you like them?

Probably Kaya Scodelario. I think she is an amazing actress and deserves more recognition.

Can you tell us 2 of your favorite proposals? It can be a proposal for a character, a director, composer etc. Then tell us why you like that proposal!

1. Kaya Scodelario (I told you I was obsessed!) as Lucinda Price (Fallen)

Why: This is my big one. It broke my heart when someone else was cast. As I mentioned Kaya is mega-talented. She has a unique look and isn’t (yet) a household name. She has the believability for the character of Luce. she has a roughness and a lightness and was absolutely perfect for the role. sigh…

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.51.51 AM

Kaya Scodelario proposed for Lucinda

2. Britt Robertson as Roux (Also Known As)

Why: Britt is very talented and versatile. I know she is moving more away from kid roles but I think she is perfect for Roux. Roux is small and blonde and feisty and cute and this just screams Britt!

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.53.25 AM

Britt Robertson proposed for Roux

I particularly like your proposal for Dianna Agron as Betty from Archie! The looks are spot on and it would be fun to see her play a sweet character like Betty. What inspired you to propose her?

Betty is meant to be super cute and sweet and Dianna is that and well, I personally think they look pretty identical!

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 12.47.26 PM

Dianna Agron proposed for Betty Cooper

UNIQUE DREAM CASTING

You’ve cast a variety of actors including some that might be lesser known to the general public like McKaley Miller (as Kate in Die For Me) and Busy Phillips (as Stefani in On The Island). How do you find the perfect actor for the part or do you just pull from actors you like personally?

I try to cast lesser known actresses. No one likes to see the same people in the same roles (no offense to Chloe Moretz, but she is in everything!). If I don’t immediately think of someone, I use IMDB searches by birth year to find people who look the part! Busy in On The Island is a particular fave as Tracey (the author) told me on Facebook that Busy’s husband is part of the people who are developing the script for film!

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.55.03 AM

Busy Philipps proposed for Stefani

You also cast for so many different stories, and even add books to The IF List pretty frequently! Do you add every book you read or just the ones you really want to see as films or TV shows?

I add most that I read as I would love to see everything I read as a film. If I don’t like a book or didn’t finish it I don’t tend to add it, as I have little interest in it etc. I just read a lot, plus I had a backlog of 9 years thus the extensive adding!!

RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS

What are you reading right now? Even in Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

What’s your favorite TV show? At the moment Pretty Little Liars, all time One Tree Hill.

What movie should be remade/rebooted? Valley of the Dolls.

Books or Movies? Books!

Harry Potter or Twilight? Twilight.

Alex Pettyfer or Dave Franco? Alex.

YA or Fantasy? YA!

Thanks so much!!!

You’re welcome, anytime – it was so much fun!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

