Upcoming Movie News and Inspiration

Master Caster Interview: Lena

INTRODUCTION

Hi Lena, Tell us a little about yourself!

Well, hello. I’m a 21 year old geek. I love to spend my free time obsessing over various fandoms. Books, Comics, TV Shows and Movies, I couldn’t tell you how many hours of my life I already wasted in a good book or binge watching an 8 season TV Show.

How did you find out about the IF List?  

If I remember correctly I discovered the IF List when Marissa Meyer, the author of The Lunar Chronicles tweeted about a website that allowed you to cast the characters yourself. I was instantly stoked that there is a website, other than tumblr, where I could share my ideas and also get inspired for more

FILM ADAPTATIONS

What is the first story you ever wished to be made into a movie?

Does FanFiction count? I was pretty young, about 13-14 years old and just discovered the magical world of FanFiction. It was a Lord of the Rings one, about a young woman being part Elf/part human, who had to flee with Legolas from her abusive uncle. Otherwise, the first real book I wished to be made into a movie was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, which succeeded quite well.

What is the last film adapted from a book/comic/real life story you saw?

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend (by Kody Keplinger)

Were you happy with the cast?

Mae Whiteman, yes, big time. Robbie Amell was alright too, but I personally would have picked someone else. But the cast was the tiniest problem I had with the movie 😦

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.55.35 PM

Mae Whitman played Bianca Piper

If you could pick one book right now to become a movie or TV series, what would it be and why?

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. It is in development actually; the amazing Andy Serkis will be the one adapting it. The whole thing feels ages away though. The book is fantastic. It has a large variety and diversity of characters, each one of them is a rich character with so many interesting sides. The whole world Samantha Shannon created is so complex and interesting that you are actually interested in the world’s politics. It has the whole package: science-fiction, fantasy, thriller, crime, drama. And a great female lead who is so much more than just kick ass, she feels like a real woman you could actually meet in real life.

FAVORITE PROPOSALS

Is there a certain actor/actress you like to use for several dream casts? Why do you like them?

I don’t really like using one actor over and over again, but I guess I’ve been using Zoey Deutch a lot. From what I have seen of her she is a great actress and is also pretty funny. With her brown hair and brown eyes she fits the physical description of a lot of fictional women. She also seems to be underrated; she is barely doing any big movies at the moment.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.05.57 PM

Zoey Deutch proposed for Ismae Rienne by Lena

Can you tell us 2 of your favorite proposals with the URL below. It can be a proposal for a character, a director, composer etc. Then tell us why you like that proposal!

  1. Carrie Hope Fletcher as Paige Mahoney (The Bone Season)

Why: A few reasons actually — Carrie is a British West End actress (currently Eponine in Les Miserables and YouTube blogger, introduced me to the book through her videos, I became really interested in the book (and impatiently waited for it to be released). So when the book trailer came out the woman who played Paige in it looked a lot like Carrie, so with the countless times I re-watched the trailer the image of Carrie as Paige stuck with me and I kept picturing her in my mind while reading. Carrie is a big fan of the books herself and already stated a couple of times that it is her dream role, that she would give everything to be able to play her.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.00.22 PM

Carrie Hope Pletcher proposed for Paige Mahoney

  1. Idris Elba as James Bond

Why: Idris Elba is simply amazing! Ever since the rumours started about him becoming the next James Bond I’ve been in love with the idea. Why the hell shouldn’t James Bond be a person of colour? When some characters can magically change gender, we can also have him as Bond.

He is a great actor, has a natural charm to him and simply deserves to finally get his big movie break.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.12.37 PM

Idris Elba proposed for James Bond

UNIQUE CASTING

Kate Mara is an interesting proposal for Carol Danvers, especially because we usually see her with brown hair. You found a great picture of her with blonde hair and I could definitely see it now! Especially with her recent action experience in Fantastic Four. What inspired you to cast her?

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.14.58 PM

Kate Mara proposed for Carol Danvers (Captain Marvel) by Lena

That is actually a pretty ridiculous and embarrassing story. I was actually looking for a new haircut to get, and on that website was a picture of Kate with that blonde bob haircut. I instantly fell in love with her (total girl crush!) and looked for even more pictures of her as a blonde. I had seen her in American Horror Story before and I knew that House of Cards was (and still is) always being prized for having such a talented cast, so I started to imagine her as Captain Marvel.

Back then, the first Fantastic Four teaser trailer looked really bad and about everyone thought it would fail really badly, but now with the actual trailer looking anything but bad I have my doubts that she would sign on to another big Superhero Franchise. With a box office flop she always could pull a Chris Evans (first Fantastic Four movie to Captain America…total improvement), but with a successful one, not so much, especially if Marvel (Disney) and FOX ever join the two universes.

You cast Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander for the upcoming JK Rowling film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them before he won his Academy Award for The Theory of Everything. Now it’s rumored that he’s actually in talks for the part! How did you know he would be the screen version of Newt!?

I’m secretly a psychic, but pshh!

I was just looking for a British actor in his mid twenties – mid thirties that wasn’t in one of the original Harry Potter movies before and wasn’t a big name already. I actually added a bunch of actors as Newt, like Matt Smith who also was rumoured to be in talks for the role… But yeah, the United Kingdom has like 8 actors that didn’t star in Harry Potter already; there weren’t many actors left that fit the age.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.32.51 PM

Eddie Redmayne proposed for Newt Scramanger by Lena

Do you think that you would want to be a casting director when you get older? Did the IF List help you discover your talent?

I would really love that. It has been my dream job for a while now (starting with my blog where I used to tag my fancasts with “Lena plays casting director”), but I am living in a very small town in Germany and I am nowhere near brave enough to move out to a big movie city like Los Angeles. And casting white old guys for the next “Tatort” (aka Germany’s favourite crime show that has been on television every Sunday, at prime time, for the past 45 years) is not what I’d call fun 😉

RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS

What are you reading right now? End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

What’s your favorite TV show? Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Sorry, Doctor Who)

What movie should be remade/rebooted? Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle) by Christopher Paolini

Books or Movies? Books

Narnia or Kings Landing? Narnia (Too many bad and brutal things happen in Westeros)

Alfred Enoch or Finn Jones? Alfred Enoch

YA or Fantasy? YA Fantasy (Ha, totally cheating on this one ;D)

Now this was a lot of fun! Thank you!

Thanks so much!!!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

