Upcoming Movie News and Inspiration

Master Caster Interview: Danielle

Matthew Daddario will play Alec Lightwood in Shadowhunters

INTRODUCTION

Hi Danielle, Tell us a little about yourself!

My name is Danielle and I’m 18 years old. I live in the Netherlands, and I study Child Psychology and Educational Sciences at University. My biggest passion is film. I also love reading, eating, sleeping, laughing and being with family and friends.

How did you find out about the IF List? 

I’m not sure to be honest! I think I saw it somewhere on social media, probably Twitter.

FILM ADAPTATIONS

What is the first story you ever wished to be made into a movie?

Hard! Mostly books I’ve read. So I’d say The Selection, I’m so happy they’re making a movie out of the books now. That series is definitely one of my favorites.

What is the last film adapted from a book/comic/real life story you saw?

Probably Love, Rosie with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin. I read the book about seven months before, and I was really excited for the movie because I loved the book so much.

Lily Collins played Rosie Dunne

Lily Collins played Rosie Dunne

Were you happy with the cast?

YES! I could have never dreamed that Lily Collins and Sam Claflin (who I both LOVE) would be cast in a movie together, let alone a movie based on such an amazing book. I also think they fit their characters great. That also includes Jaime Winstone and Christian Cooke.

If you could pick one book right now to become a movie or TV series, what would it be and why?

The Selection, and then the other books of the series as sequels (The Elite, The One, The Heir…). Firstly because I loved the books so much. They had this balance between a romance/girly novel and a story with an actual interesting background and world. To me, it’s like Divergent meets Bachelorette or something. I personally love novels that focus on the future and the changes our world has gone through. I also love the idea of a prince getting to choose between all those (some plain) girls. It makes me believe that anyone in the world, even a girl from a mediocre/low caste such as America Singer, can make an actual difference to the course of events that can drastically change the world for the better. I also loved the characters, especially Maxon Schreave. Lastly I think it could really work as a movie series, because I think a lot of girls would be into that kind of story.

FAVORITE PROPOSALS

Is there a certain actor/actress you like to use for several dream casts? Why do you like them?

The weird thing is I don’t – I fancast a lot of different actors and actresses – and mostly these aren’t even actors or actresses I love that much. Like – my favorite actresses are Jennifer Lawrence, Lily Collins, Emma Watson, Emma Stone, Shailene Woodley and the list goes on. But I wouldn’t actually fancast them often. When I read books, I like being able to differentiate them. And most of those actresses I named are in huge franchises like The Hunger Games or Divergent. And because I know them so well (as actresses) and I’ve seen so much of their work it would be like picturing a friend or something (sounds weird, but hopefully you get the idea). So that’s why I pick as many different actors and actresses I can think of when it comes to characters, mostly ones I don’t know that well.

What I also do a lot is go to IF List and see who people have fancast, and then see if I agree with any of the proposals and then imagine them. A lot of people don’t actually imagine a certain person when they read a book, but for me it gives more power and depth to the reading experience. It makes it more real. An exception to not casting the same actor or actress more than once or twice is Daren Kagasoff. While I’ve only seen him in a pilot of a TV show they chose not to produce, Delirium, he keeps popping into my head when I picture certain characters. I don’t know him well at all, but my mind keeps doing that.

Daren Kagasoff proposed for Aspen Leger by Danielle

Daren Kagasoff proposed for Aspen Leger by Danielle

Can you tell us 2 of your favorite proposals? It can be a proposal for a character, a director, composer etc. Then tell us why you like that proposal!

  1. Marie Avgeropoulos as Juliette Ferrars in the Shatter Me series

Why: When I started reading the first novel in this series I immediately pictured Marie. The description of Juliette just fit her perfectly and I loved Marie in the TV series The 100, so I fancast her for myself and kept imagining her throughout reading the rest of the series, and I could actually see her acting like Juliette did in the books. I think she can act fierce and shy all at once and she’s beautiful, just like Juliette. Like I said – mostly I can’t come up with decent explanations as to why I fancast certain actors and actresses – it just happens.

Marie Avgeropoulos proposed for Juliette Ferrars

Marie Avgeropoulos proposed for Juliette Ferrars

2. Simon Woods as Prince Maxon Schreave in The Selection series

Why: I fancast Simon Woods as Prince Maxon Schreave because of his performance as Mr. Bingley in the 2005 Pride & Prejudice movie. I fell completely in love with the gentleman he played and I saw many similarities between that character and Maxon. It might be really weird since Simon’s a redhead and Maxon is described as blonde, but for me he is the perfect Maxon. While I said before that I couldn’t come up with decent explanations as to why I fancast certain actors and actresses, here I could see why I chose Simon.

Simon Woods proposed for Prince Maxon

Simon Woods proposed for Prince Maxon

UNIQUE CASTING

You proposed Josh Hutcherson as Hansel and Elle Fanning as Gretel, which are both adorable ideas! What inspired you to cast them as a pair?

Well – I’m gonna be honest here. They were both rumoured to be cast in Hansel and Gretel, which is a movie in development. I found out on IMDb, a website I check like every hour. And since Josh Hutcherson is one of – if not my biggest – idols, I found out immediately so I wanted to know what the rest of the people on If List thought of this rumour and proposed Josh and Elle Fanning. Sadly IMDb removed both from the project recently so I guess it’s not happening anymore. Apart from it being a rumour – I actually think they would be great for the roles. I only think that the age difference between Josh and Elle could be an obstacle, although I don’t know if Hansel is actually much older than Gretel.

Josh Hutcherson proposed for Hansel

Josh Hutcherson proposed for Hansel

You proposed Matthew Daddario as Baden Trains in The Heir. Do you think he was a good choice for ABC Family’s Shadowhunters?

This is such a tricky question, because my love for The Mortal Instruments series and just the whole Shadowhunter Chronicles is so big. I’m so fond of Cassandra Clare’s universe. So – when I saw the movie (gonna be honest, I read all of the books after I saw the movie), I pictured the whole movie cast as the actual characters. And I’ve read ten books in the series like that, so I obviously got attached to the film’s portrayals. When I heard they weren’t making the second movie, I was so sad and mad. Then the rumour came that they would cast new actors, and that made me even more upset. And when the bomb dropped that they were making a TV show, I was literally dying. First, because I think it’s not a good idea to make certain book series into a TV show. I know that book series like Pretty Little Liars, The Vampire Diaries, and The 100 are completely changed to be made into a long-running TV show, because books don’t have enough material to make an entire TV show from (opposed to movies).

Matthew Daddario will play Alec Lightwood in Shadowhunters

Matthew Daddario will play Alec Lightwood in Shadowhunters

So back to the question about Matthew Daddario as Alec Lightwood: it’s just that Alec is my favorite character out of The Mortal Instruments series. And Kevin Zegers, who portrayed him in the movie, was the PER-FECT Alec to me. I think Matthew Daddario is really handsome and I’m also a big fan of his older sister – Alexandra Daddario. But for me, for the role of Alec, I can’t picture him quite yet. Maybe he’ll be really great, but I’ll never see him as Alec Lightwood. Sorry for the way too long answer here, but I have so many thoughts on Shadowhunters that I really needed to express them when I saw this question.

RAPID FIRE QUESTIONS

What are you reading right now? Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

What’s your favorite TV show? There’s really not one, there’s so many: The 100, Pretty Little Liars, Modern Family, New Girl, Teen Wolf, Sherlock, American Horror Story, and I’m probably still forgetting some.

What movie should be remade/rebooted? I wish they would continue some movie series, like The Mortal Instruments, Percy Jackson, Vampire Academy and The Amazing Spider-Man series.

Books or Movies? Don’t even do this to me! I love both so much! I do think that when a book is made into a movie a lot of sometimes important aspects get neglected. But I love cinema and film and everything that has something to do with it, and it’s so amazing to see a book you’ve read come to life on the big screen.

The Hunger Games or Maze Runner? Easy: The Hunger Games. That series has meant so much to me in my life, I’ve grown so fond of the actors, movies and books (and I think the movies, especially Catching Fire, might be even better than the book in some ways, and I never say that). I have made so many amazing friends through fangirling over this series, and it had me ending up in Paris and London for premieres to meet the actors, so it has just meant a lot to me. I’ve read The Maze Runner series as well, also great, but I love The Hunger Games more.

Jamie Blackley or Josh Hutcherson? Josh is one of my biggest idols ever and I’ve had the privilege to have met him twice and he was so incredibly nice and humble. He also plays my favorite fictional character in the entire world: Peeta Mellark. I run a news account for him as well. This is just an easy choice, while I love Jamie Blackley as well. He’s really my type and a great young and promising actor.

YA or Pure Fantasy? YA! It’s mostly all I read. I just love the way Young-Adult books are written and I love exploring all the different worlds YA books contain. Although fantasy books have amazing worlds as well, for example, Harry Potter is my favorite book series in the entire world, but I just read more YA novels, so I’d say YA here.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

